If women are doing a “man’s job,” it’s ok, but if a man is doing some kind of a “woman’s job,” it’s a shame

The interviewer (Nikki Kazimova) met Shahla Sultanova for an interview on March 1, 2011. Shahla is a journalist who has just returned from the U.S. after completing a Master’s Degree in journalism. She is originally from the region of Zagatala, which is where her family lives.

My name is Shahla Sultanova. I am 30 years old. Foreigners call me Sheila because of the difficulty of pronouncing my name. I am not married and I don’t have children yet, but I have a plan to have children or a child some day.

My living situation is kind of complicated. I lived most of my life alone. Right now I live with my cousins in Baku in a small apartment. That’s because I have just come back from the United States and I have financial difficulty. I have a plan, it should happen, to find an apartment and to live alone.

Usually, I live alone. That’s what I did in the last 15 years. I grew up in an Avarian community, in Zagatala, in a village called Yuxari Tala. I had a grandma who lived totally alone.

She had plenty of rooms and after the age of 15, I went to live with her. And at the age of 18 I moved to Ganja city to study and of course I lived there alone, too. For the first two months, I shared my house with another student from my town but it didn’t work out.

For some reason in my character I can’t live with anyone. It’s really very difficult. I had a problem living with my sister too. It was difficult for me to find a place and pay for it, that’s why I moved to a dorm, which was in a very bad condition but they gave me a room that I did not have to share with anyone else. It was very cold but it was so important for me to have a place to myself.

And after that I moved to Georgia, I studied in Georgia. And again I tried to live with someone else and it didn’t work and I moved to an apartment where I had my own room. So, privacy was very important to me, all the time. And my parents were ok with that, they didn’t care.

I grew up in an Avarian community. We didn’t grow up as Azerbaijani girls, with lots of limitations. Of course, we had some, but not things like wearing long skirts or not. It’s funny but my parents didn’t care what kind of make-up I have, and where I go and who my friends are. We didn’t talk a lot about marriage and at what age I should be married. Or as a girl you should do this or that. My mom is Azerbaijani, she is from a different region. She tried to do this, but it didn’t work because majority of children there are not like she wanted us to be.

I guess, it comes from my community. We grew up like boys and my parents cared about what I wanted. Not like, say, Europeans, they are not very open-minded, they are people with only secondary education, they don’t have high education. But my dad gave us freedom, some kind of freedom. I don’t know if he did it because he wanted us to be free or because he didn’t care about us. We did have freedom. We grew up like boys and we grew in the mountains where you cannot be very ladylike, you know “khanim” kind of girl, like Azerbaijanis say.

And it is about my character, I guess because my sister doesn’t care about privacy and living with parents. She continues to live with parents because it’s easier. My mom takes care of her, and she likes it. I don’t like my mom taking care of me. I guess it’s very individual and it comes from my community and it comes from my family from my dad’s side. Because my grandma was a masculine kind of woman, we called her “Ataman”, and that’s how I saw women.

I moved to the United States when I was 28. Before that I always cared about privacy, in dorms in different cities I always wanted to have my own room and I didn’t like people entering my room without knocking. If I had to meet someone, I’d meet them outside of my room. My room was some kind of sacred place for me where I didn’t want people to come, and most of the time it was not clean and tidy (laughing). But still it was my room and I didn’t want anyone except me to be there. That was a place where I was thinking, where I was creative, where I spent most of my time. So, I kind of kept it secure from everyone. I don’t know why.

I thought that it was a problem and that I should change that but in the United States I understood that I was just individualistic and could not live in a communal society. That is why I did not feel like a minority in the United States. I felt that way more in Azerbaijan, even if I grew up here and I speak the language and even if my mom is Azerbaijani, for some reason – because of my community or the women in my family. I don’t have very deep relations with my mom’s family, I don’t even remember their faces, we did not meet much. That’s why may be I felt like a minority in Baku and in different region of Azerbaijan.

In the United States I felt very free and very independent and I felt “that’s a society that I should be a part of.” I understood that people can really feel like a minority in their own country. So, it’s about society, not about you. I don’t have a problem, it’s just a kind of character that I have and it’s the way I grew up, that’s how my personality was shaped. So, I see myself as a private individual, I don’t understand how people can be a part of collectivist societies and how people can share lots of things. I like it but I like seeing it, I don’t like being a part of it.

I spent lots of time deciding who I wanted to be. It was difficult because when I was 15, I wanted to be a filmmaker. I was always interested in making movies and I wanted to be an actress, just like every other 10-year-old. I realized that I could not be a successful movie-maker, and I decided to be a journalist.

My dad’s sister encouraged me not to be a journalist – they said it’s very difficult to get education, to enter the university, you live in the regions, and won’t have a high enough score to be admitted. So, I decided to enroll in something related to English. At that time it was important to know English. So, I thought I’d learn English and then I’d decide what I’m going to be.

I am not sure that Azerbaijan is a good country for a young woman to prove herself, so I decided I did not have money and I could not find a job because everyone had to know English. Again, I was not happy about it but I entered the department of English philology at Ganja State University. I cried a lot because I didn’t want to move to Ganja, I wanted to move to Baku but I didn’t have a high enough score, I guess.

I applied for free education because my family couldn’t afford to pay for my education. That’s why you really have to have a very high score to be admitted to a university in Baku. They are considered to be prestigious ones. On my first trip to Ganja I cried for four hours in a taxi. My mom was very depressed that I did not like it but she didn’t know how to help me, there was no way she could help me.

So, I studied at that university. That was a free education, the only thing that my government gave me and it was worthless, I didn’t learn anything. But I was very active outside of university, I spent a lot of time with youth organizations and some centers. It was a time when youth orgs were getting active.

There I learned that there was a chance for me to go to the United States and get education. I spent lots of time on investigating how I could get to the US, what I can study. I applied several times and failed. Again it’s hard to understand why you fail.

But then I studied in Georgia, at GIPA, it was a scholarship, again it was a free education. It was a very good education, I am happy to be a part of it. It was practical journalism, and I always wanted more. Because in my heart I always desired to get more and more education. Even though I have now graduated from the US university, I still want to go back for a PhD. I love to be part of the academia, I love to write with professors.

So, after GIPA where I studied journalism, I went to the US and it was the greatest experience in my life. I am having a very difficult time after that but it was worth it. I want to go again and enroll in a PhD program because I like US education so much that I realize how it makes you a part of a bigger world.

Was there a division of labor in your home between men and women?

Not really. My sister and I did a lot of men’s work. We did not divide work into work we could do and work we could not do. Once I was carrying a sack of potatoes because we lived in an agricultural region, and a man saw me and he blamed my dad, “How can you make your daughter do this?” Dad said, “I don’t make her. That’s what she always did.” Another time I was carrying home hazelnuts from the forest. And there were people who blamed my family. But they said, it’s ok, she can do it. I did a lot of man’s jobs, except technical things, I didn’t fix anything. I did it in Ganja – because all women who lived in the dorm had to do it, we didn’t have any men to help us. But in our home we did not have this division.

What about your dad? Did he help with cooking and cleaning?

Oh, no, not, in that case no. In that case, we had a division. It’s not a man’s job, women should do it. My dad would never cook and if he is home, we should bring him tea. He considers it to be woman’s job. He cannot even take food from the kitchen, we should serve it to him.

In that case, yes there is a division of labor. If women were doing a man’s job, it’s ok, but if man is doing some kind of woman’s job, it’s a shame. They would never do it.

Do you have any regrets about your past choices? Would you do something differently?

Starting from my teen years, I have had to make decisions for myself. I made mistakes. For example, I thought I should part of society. I understood that I was different, but I tried to pretend and be a part of it. But I wouldn’t do it now. I would be myself – a boyish girl, as I grew up.

When I moved out of my city, I saw lots of differences, I was very different, and I tried to be a part of the mainstream. And I didn’t enjoy it, and it didn’t actually work. They still considered me kind of a foreigner. I guess it’s because of my face and hair color. They always told me, “Well, we don’t think you are like us.” In Ganja and my friends in Baku were asking “What is your mixture?” People, not in a bad way, but in a good way, wanted to send me a message that we know that you have mixture in your family, like you grew up in a different city, different community. If I had a chance I wouldn’t try to be like the rest of society, I would be myself and wouldn’t care about the opinion of society which I did before.

I do have friends, I am a lucky person, but they cannot always understand me, especially after I came back from the US. They say that my image, my taste was “spoiled” because I don’t care about… Azeri women care about themselves a lot – like everything, the polished nails, very nice clothes. I don’t care about this anymore. They complain and say that United States spoiled me.

They say you shouldn’t be so aggressive and criticize society so much. I never had a chance to choose my society. If I don’t feel happy in this society, who can tell me that I have a problem. My experience was so different. That’s why I don’t talk much with them, and I try to isolate myself from my friends. We keep in touch, we phone but differences are too great. Except my friends in the United States but because they have never lived in Azerbaijan they don’t understand why I am not happy. So, we don’t talk about it much.

Generally, I don’t have a friend to whom I can go and say “I have a problem.” I just go inside me and I don’t talk about it. I don’t know what to do.

For me, the ideal kind of family is the kind of family they have in the United States. US is not as open as Europeans, they are still conservative about their families, spend lots of time with their family. I guess, Europeans are more liberal. I would not like to have a family that is super-liberal, I’d prefer conservative kind of families that live in the US, where they feel the obligation to spend time with children, to be with their family. Also, what I like about them – it’s ok for a husband in the US to clean a house, it’s not the woman’s job, and to take care of children and to give some privacy to woman.

I definitely don’t want a typical Azerbaijani man to be my husband. I don’t think we can get along, I can already see a divorce. I would like to have a man who is really open-minded, who doesn’t criticize me even if I make mistakes, who doesn’t care about my family, if I am rich or not, understands that people are different and for some reason I am different. I didn’t choose to be different. He has to understand that my dad is from a different ethnic group, and that played a role in my upbringing. I don’t  want to have a husband who’ll see me as someone who can take care of him, and I want someone to marry me because he loves my personality, – not my eyes, not my legs, not my nose, and who respects me for what I did because I think I did a lot of things that deserve respect. I didn’t have family support, I did lots of things by myself.

Sometimes I am being criticized for being independent. Some people considered me to be a “light” woman because I lived alone and did lots of admin things alone, my dad didn’t help, couldn’t help. I don’t see much perspective of finding someone like that in this country because I guess women are more open-minded than men in Azerbaijan. I can talk to a woman more openly than to a man. My female friends who studied in the US are more open-minded than my male friends who studied in the US. I am not saying that everyone should change but my observation is that women change more and men change just a little bit [after living in the US]. Azerbaijan is a conservative, kind of close society. I want a cosmopolitan society, I don’t care which nationality someone is.

I would like to marry someone form my ethnic community because they would understand me better than people who grew up in Baku or in different regions. We know what it is like to grow up in Zagatala. Azerbaijanis who come to visit the mountainous communities can somehow feel that it’s different there, they say that it’s more open. But still they could not be good potential husbands to me. But if I had to choose between them and Azerbaijanis, I’d choose them.

Would you marry an Armenian?

I guess so… I cannot say “no.” Right now, if I say no, it won’t be sincere because I can.

How about an American?

Oh, I would be happy. Again, I am in love with American society and people. It was a very good experience in my life and I didn’t feel like a foreigner. I didn’t feel as a foreigner in Georgia as well. But Georgians love their nationality that’s why I could see myself different in Georgia… But still- if I had to choose between Azerbaijan and Georgia, I would prefer to live in Georgia. It’s really hard to explain but I feel at home in Georgia. But if I had a choice, I would choose the US. American society is ideal for me – it’s so diverse, and they have such high level of respect to differences. It’s easy to communicate with Americans because they are very careful about asking questions, they care about your privacy. That’s why I like them.

I would love to live in the US – that’s one reason why I want to get PhD education. I really want to be more educated but I also want to be a part of the US society. I am very glad I didn’t live in a big city like New York or Chicago because that wouldn’t be American society. I lived in the small town of Bloomington, which was “real American culture.”

What is your attitude to religion?

I am agnostic. Or, rather, I am an atheist, I don’t believe in God. I used to pray before, but after the age of 22 I realized that there is no connection between me and God. I don’t believe in sacred relationships. I believe in things that I can see.

But I am very jealous of people who believe in God because their lives are so much more peaceful. In a metro station, if I see religious people, I choose to sit next to them than to non-religious. For some reason, I think they will not hurt you. They may not understand you but they won’t hurt you. Religion is very individual, if you have a god, it doesn’t mean that your god is my god.

How would you know if someone is a religious person?

In a Muslim society, it’s easy to know – if someone is covered, of course she is religious, and I believe most of the women who are covered are devoted Muslims, I don’t think that they do it because they pretend. And non-traditional men, Salafis, they have long beards and you can recognize them easily. They are considered to be a danger for the society. I can’t say about the political side of it but I really prefer to sit next to that man. I don’t feel any danger coming from him. Socially, I don’t. Politically, they can be dangerous but not all Salafis and Shi’a are Islamists and politicized. If someone is a devout Shi’a I don’t think they support Akhmadinejad or hate Unites States. If someone is Salafi, it doesn’t mean that they are Wahhabis or support Usama Bin Laden. I don’t believe in God but I feel connected to the idea that there is God. I have very deep respect to religious people and I wish I could be religious but I can’t, it’s hard for me to understand.

What about arts, culture, books?

From early age I understood that arts is something that opens your eyes and helps you to understand the world. I lived in a very small town and we almost didn’t have any arts. Can you imagine me going to exhibitions in this village? The only thing we had was a soviet-time movie theater where we went to see movies. It was good. This was the only part of art that I explored. I highly enjoy art when I have a chance even if I don’t  always understand it and music is a part of my life, I can’t live without it. Especially African music. I didn’t understand jazz before. In painting, I cannot tell a masterpiece from a regular piece. I didn’t have a lot of chance to explore arts. My public university in the US had so many chances to explore arts. We had museums.

When USSR broke up you were a child. How did you feel about it, what did it mean to you?

I remember lots of good things about Soviet Union – the educational system. I did not even realize what it meant to be a part of Soviet Union before it collapsed when I was ten years old. We couldn’t buy bread, and there was a huge line. And because my mom was working, I was the only member of the family who could stand in that line. And most of the time I couldn’t buy bread because there was fighting between people for the bread and the flour to bake the bread. So, I remember hunger about that time.

We lived ok, we had a government to care for us, and suddenly no one took care of us. I was surprised why I should stay in that line and why I shouldn’t be at home studying, and why our school is not taking care of us like they did before. Because my mom worked, I could go to school earlier and have special preparation classes, teachers would help us with math and reading and we had free fruit at school. We had everything very cheap, so I didn’t have to think about my small change and saving them for tomorrow.

And all of the sudden, everything changed. I didn’t understand what I should love and what I should hate but now I am very nostalgic about those times, especially after I took classes on politics of the former Soviet Union states. It may sound really stupid and funny but I really would like to go back to that big country rather than being a part of a small independent country where I don’t know who I am yet. Even though there was a lot of ideology, I knew who I was, I was a citizen of the Soviet Union. Now I am a citizen of Azerbaijan but what does this give to me? I don’t understand what it means to be a citizen of Azerbaijan. The government gave me only a free education and it was nothing.

So I want it to come back? I don’t know. The ideology was kind of weird. I prefer of course a democratic society. But if you ask me to choose between independent Azerbaijan and Soviet Azerbaijan, I would definitely choose Soviet where people had security. Even though it was corrupt but not as corrupt as now. There was corruption in education but you could go and complain. And where do you complain now? We didn’t have free media. We kind of have free media now. It’s kind an ugly version of Soviet Azerbaijan. I don’t think I live in an independent country. What is independent? The county can represent itself independently but who am I? I don’t see myself. In Soviet times, I guess, I would have more privileges.

When did you realize that Azerbaijan was at war and how did it affect your life?

Since we lived in the north, it didn’t have as much affect on my life as it did on the lives of most children of my age, especially in the Western part of Azerbaijan. We didn’t have a lot of refugees coming to settle in the north. They mostly came to the parts that are close to the conflict region. But I remember people crying during the first years of conflict. I remember my mom and relatives crying watching Black January events on TV. I remember being terrified. At my school people burned red ties. I liked my tie a lot. I had just become a pioneer and I liked it and they burned it.

How will the Karabakh conflict be resolved? What’s the way forward?

My family disliked Armenians as much as the Azerbaijanis did. Even my dad who considers himself and is very cosmopolitan, even he was unhappy with the Armenians after this conflict because even if he doesn’t feel himself as a part of Azerbaijan, he still hated what happened to the country. My mom is Azerbaijani, so of course it affected her, but the way it affected my dad was the same as with mom. My mom was close to the regions that were occupied.

I disliked Armenians too for a while but I think it has changed since that time. Now I don’t care – I had Armenian friends in Georgia and in the United States. I don’t hate them at all, and I don’t see any difference, and I don’t think they are guilty. It’s a political conflict.

I got more mature and I could think beyond Azerbaijan. May be because I am an ethnic minority too. In my region, a few people sometimes say, “We should be independent, we should not be a part of Azerbaijan.” I can understand this but I don’t think it’s smart to think like that or to have that desire. If we are ethnic minorities it does not mean that we should be separated. We still can be a part of Azerbaijan and I guess Azerbaijan is very, very tolerant to ethnic minorities. I can openly say that I am Avar. It’s different in Georgia where it’s difficult to say I am Chechen or Swan. I saw my classmates’ reaction, they have some minorities and people don’t talk about it. I was actually respected.

It’s difficult to talk about Armenia-Azerbaijan relations and Karabakh. I think this conflict will not be solved until the media stop attacking each other, until ANS won’t stop doing things like starting the news from saying that the conflict is continuing.

People need to get educated. The more educated you are the less nationalistic you are, the less you will be in a conflict. If people don’t have a chance for good education, of course there will be all that nationalism. The more they will stay nationalistic, the more the conflict will stay frozen and it’s not going to be resolved.

They should understand that Armenians did bad things to Azerbaijan but Azerbaijanis also did some kind of bad things to Armenians. They shouldn’t hate people because of their ethnicity, they shouldn’t generalize. There are lots of cases in history – French and English had conflicts over hundreds of years but they live in peace now. People should know it. Conflict resolution is not only among politicians, it should be among people too. Even if they say that the borders are open now, if people don’t accept it, it’s a new step toward new conflict. I don’t  think they educate people about other conflicts.

I see discrimination on the part of government and in the media saying we are better than Armenians, but Armenians are people too. This is a conflict and it will take a long time until people realize that Armenians are normal people we should forget what happened. Armenians should also forget that we are Turkic people. We are not as bad as they think of us.

Azeri translation:

Məni sərbəst olduğuma görə qınayırlar

Mən Avar icmasında böyümüşəm. Orada qızlar digər regionlardakı etnik Azərbaycanlılardan fərqli olaraq daha sərbəst böyüyürlər. Valideynlərim bizim üçün geyim kodu, qadağan saatı kimi məhdudiyyətlər tətbiq etmirdilər. Mən və bacım hansı yaşda və nə cür adamla ailə qurmaq kimi söhbətlərə cəlb  olunmurduq. Anamız Azərbaycanlı olsa da,  özünün  böyüdüldüyü qaydları  bizə tətbiq edə bilmirdi. Buna cəhd etsə də,  alınmırdı. Çünki ona dəstək verən yox idi.

Uşaqkən ailəmdə qadınların ağır əməklə məşğul olduğunun çox şahidi olmuşam. Kənd təsərrüfatı regionunda yaşadığımız üçün mən dəfələrlə ağır  kartof kisələri daşımalı olmuşam. Hətta bunu görən bir qonşu bir dəfə atamı tənqid də etmişdi. Atam isə cavabında “Mən onu buna məcbur etmirəm. O özü  kişi işinə can atır” deyə cavab vermişdi.

Doğrudan da, texnika təmirini nəzərə almasaq,  cəmiyyət üçün kişi işi hesab  olunan xeyli sayda iş görmüşəm. Texniki avadanlığın təmirini isə, sonralar tələbə ikən öyrəndim. Mən qızlar yataqxanasında qaldığım üçün, işığın, sıradan çıxmış qızdırıcının, ütünün düzəldilməsini hamı kimi mən də öyrənmişdim.

Bəzən məni sərbəst olduğuma görə qınayırlar. Bəziləri hətta tək yaşamağa can atdığım, problemlərimi tək,  valideynlərimin köməyi olmadan həll etdiyim üçün mənə “yüngül qadın” münasibəti göstərirlər. Özüm kimilərinə az rast gəlmişəm. Amma müqayisədə Azərbaycan qadınları kişilərindən daha açıq fikirlidirlər. Buna görə də məndə qadınlarla ünsiyyət daha yaxşı alınır, nəinki kişilərlə. Amerikada mənimlə birlikdə təhsil alan Azərbaycanlı tələbələr arasında da kişilərin daha dar düşüncəli olduğunu görmüşəm.

Öz böyüdüyüm icmadan olan biri ilə ailə qurmağa üstünlük verərdim, çünki məncə, bir-birimizi yaxşı başa düşərdik. Zaqatalada böyümək o deməkdir ki,  biz fərqli mühitin insanlarıyıq. Bunu həmin regiona səfər etmiş çox adam deyir.

Amma yenə də mən Amerikalıların heyranıyam. O ölkə və onun insanları məni çox cəlb edir. Orada təhsil aldığım müddət həyatımın ən gözəl təcrübəsi olub.  Özümü qətiyyən əcnəbi kimi hiss etmirdim. Amerika cəmiyyəti bir hissəsi  olmaq istədiyim yeganə cəmiyyətdir. O çox rəngarəngdir, dəyərlər daha ülvi  anlayışlar üzərində qurulub.

Dinə gəlincə isə mən aqnostikəm, daha doğrusu ateist, yəni Allaha inanmıram. Əvvəllər Tanrı ilə aramda bir bağlılıq vardı. Amma 22 yaşımdan sonra bu  bağlılıq artıq öz əhəmiyyətini itirdi. Artıq müqəddəs hesab olunanlara  inanmamağa başladım. Bununla belə, məndə dinə bağlı insanlara qarşı  anlaşılmaz həsəd var. Mənə elə gəlir ki, inamları onların həyatını daha asan  edir. İctimai yerlərdə həmişə məhz dinə bağlılara yaxın olmaq istəyirəm,  nəinki digərlərinə. Mənə elə gəlir ki, biz çox fərqli olsaq da, onlardan mənə heç bir pislik gəlməz.

Armenian Translation:

«Ես հասկացա, որ մարդիկ կարող են իրոք փոքրամասնության անդամի պես զգալ իրենց երկրում»

Հարցազրույցը վարողը` Նիկկի Կազիմովան, հանդիպել է Շահլա Սուլտանովային հարցազրույց վերցնելու համար 2011թ. մարտի 1-ին: Շահլան լրագրող է, ով նոր է վերադարձել ԱՄՆ-ից իր լրագրության մագիստրոսի աստիճանը համալրելուց հետո: Ծագումով նա Զագաթալա շրջանից է, որտեղ ապրում է նրա ընտանիքը:

Ես մեծացել եմ ավարական համայնքում: Մենք ադրբեջանցի աղջիկների պես բազմաթիվ սահմանափակումներով չենք մեծացել: Անշուշտ մենք էլ որոշ սահմանափակումներ ունեցել ենք, բայց ոչ այնպիսիք, ինչպես ասենք երկար շրջազգեստ կրել-չկրելը: Զավեշտալի է, որ ծնողներս չէին մտահոգվում այն մասին, թե ինչ դիմահարդարում էի կրում, թե ուր էի գնում և ովքեր էին իմ ընկերները: Մենք շատ չէինք զրուցում ամուսնության թեմայի և կամ այն մասին, թե ինչ տարիքում պետք է ամուսնանայի: Կամ այն մասին, թե որպես աղջկա ինձ ինչ էր թույլատրելի անել, իսկ ինչ` ոչ: Մայրս ադրբեջանցի է, նա մի ուրիշ շրջանից է: Նա փորձում էր այդպես վարվել, բայց դա չաշխատեց, քանզի այնտեղի երեխաների մեծամասնությունն այնպիսին չէր, ինչպիսին նա ուզում էր, որ մենք լինեինք:

Կարծում եմ, որ դա գալիս է իմ համայնքից: Մենք տղաների պես ենք մեծացել, և ծնողներս ուշադրություն դարձնում էին իմ ցանկություններին: Մենք մեծացել ենք տղաների պես լեռներում, ուր չես կարող լինել շատ կանացի, դե գիտեք, ինչպես ադրբեջանցիներն են ասում, չես կարող լինել « խանիմ » աղջիկ:

Ես ԱՄՆ տեղափոխվեցի 28 տարեկան հասակում: Ես համարում էի դա խնդիր ու կարծում, որ պետք է փոխեի դա, բայց Միացյալ Նահանգներում հասկացա, որ պարզապես շատ անհատապաշտ էի և չէի կարող ապրել համայնքային հասարակության մեջ: Պատճառը դրանում է, որ ինձ Միացյալ Նահանգներում փոքրամասնության ներկայացուցիչ չէի զգում: Այդպես ինձ ավելի Ադրբեջանում էի զգում, չնայած, որ այստեղ եմ մեծացել ու խոսում եմ այս լեզվով, և մայրս ադրբեջանցի է:

Միացյալ Նահանգներում ինձ շատ ազատ ու անկախ էի զգում, և զգում էի, որ դա էր հասարակությունը, որի մասը ես պետք է կազմեի: Ես հասկացա, որ մարդիկ կարող են իրոք փոքրամասնության անդամի պես զգալ իրենց երկրում: Այսպիսով, խոսքը հասարակության մասին է, և ոչ թե քո: Ես չունեմ խնդիր, սա ընդամենը բնավորության տիպ է, որն ունեմ, այդպիսին եմ մեծացել, իմ անհատականությունն այդպիսին է ձևավորվել: Այսպիսով, ինձ ընկալում եմ որպես անհատի, չեմ կարող հասկանալ` ինչպես են մարդիկ կարողանում կոլլեկտիվիստական հասարակության մաս կազմել ու կիսվել շատ բաներով միմյանց հետ:

Ես ընդունվեցի Գանջայի պետական համալսարանի անգլիական բանասիրության ֆակուլտետ: Ես շատ եմ լացել, որովհետև չէի ուզում տեղափոխվել Գանջա, ես ուզում էի Բաքու տեղափոխվել, բայց բավականաչափ բարձր միավորներ չունեի, կարծում եմ: Դա անվճար կրթություն էր, միակ բանն էր, որ իմ պետությունը տվել է ինձ և այն անարժեք էր, ես ոչինչ չսովորեցի: Բայց ես շատ ակտիվ էի համալսարանից դուրս, շատ ժամանակ էի անցկացնում երիտասարդական կազմակերպություններում և որոշ կենտրոններում:

Այնտեղ ես իմացա, որ ունեի հնարավորություն ԱՄՆ մեկնելու և կրթություն ստանալու: Ես շատ ժամանակ եմ ծախսել հետազոտելով այն, թե ինչպես կարող էի հասնել ԱՄՆ, թե ինչ կարող էի ուսանել: Ես դիմել եմ բազմաթիվ անգամներ և ձախողվել: Մյուս կողմից դժվար է հասկանալ` ինչու ես ձախողվում:

Բայց հետո ես սովորեցի Վրաստանում` Հանրային հարցերի վրացական ինստիտուտում, դարձյալ անվճար կրթություն էր: Շատ որակյալ կրթություն էր, ուրախ եմ, որ դրա մասն եմ կազմել: Դա գործնական լրագրություն էր, և ես միշտ ուզում էի ավելին:

Հանրային հարցերի վրացական ինստիտուտից հետո, ուր լրագրություն էի սովորում, ես մեկնեցի ԱՄՆ, և դա կյանքիս մեծագույն փորձառությունն էր:

Տանը քույրս և ես շատ տղամարդկային գործեր էինք անում: Բայց հայրս երբեք ճաշ չէր պատրաստի, և եթե նա տանն էր, մենք պետք է իրեն թեյ մատուցեինք: Նա դա կանացի գործ է համարում: Նա նույնիսկ չի կարող ուտելիքը խոհանոցից վերցնել, մենք պետք է մատուցենք այն իրեն:

Ես իրոք ունեմ ընկերներ, ես հաջողակ անձ եմ, բայց միշտ չէ, որ նրանք կարող են հասկանալ ինձ, հատկապես ԱՄՆ-ից վերադառնալուցս հետո: Նրանք ասում են, որ իմ կերպարը, իմ ճաշակը «փչացրել են», որովհետև ես չեմ մտահոգվում այն հարցերով, որոնք   հուզում են ադրբեջանցի կանանց: Ադրբեջանցի կանայք շատ են հոգ տանում իրենց մասին` ամեն ինչի մասին, հղկված եղունգների, շատ սիրունիկ զգեստների մասին: Ես այլևս անտարբեր եմ դրա հանդեպ: Նրանք դժգոհում են ու ասում, որ Միացյալ Նահանգները փչացրել են ինձ:

Ես կուզեի ամուսնանալ իմ էթնիկ համայնքին պատկանող մեկի հետ, որովհետև նա ինձ ավելի լավ կհասկանար, քան մարդիկ, ովքեր մեծացել են Բաքվում կամ այլ շրջաններում: Մենք գիտենք, թե ինչ է նշանակում հասունանալ Զագաթալայում: Ադրբեջանցիներն, ովքեր գալիս են այցելելու լեռնային համայնքները, ինչ-որ կերպ զգում են, որ այդ տեղերը տարբերվում են, ավելի բաց են: Բայց և այնպես նրանք իմ կողմից չեն կարող դիտարկվել որպես պոտենցիալ լավ ամուսիններ ինձ համար: Բայց եթե ես ստիպված լինեի ընտրություն կատարել նրանց և ադրբեջանցիների միջև, ես կնտրեի նրանց:

Երբ ԽՍՀՄ-ը լուծարվեց, դու երեխա էիր: Ի՞ նչ էիր զգում այդ կապակցությամբ, դա ի՞ նչ էր նշանակում քեզ համար: 

Ես շատ լավ բաներ եմ հիշում Սովետական Միության վերաբերյալ, օրինակ` կրթական համակարգը: Ես նույնիսկ չէի գիտակցում` ինչ էր նշանակում լինել Սովետական Միության մի մասը մինչև այն փլուզվեց, երբ ես տասը տարեկան էի: Մենք չէինք կարող հաց գնել, հսկայական հերթեր կային: Եվ քանի որ մայրս աշխատում էր, ես ընտանիքի միակ անդամն էի, ով կարող էր կանգնել այդ հերթում: Եվ հիմնականում ես չէի կարողանում հաց գնել, որովհետև մարդկանց միջև կռիվներ էին լինում հացի և հաց թխելու համար նախատեսված ալյուրի համար: Այսպիսով, այդ ժամանակների վերաբերյալ սով եմ հիշում:

Մենք լավ էինք ապրում, մեր մասին հոգ տանելու համար պետություն ունեինք, և հանկարծակի ոչ ոք մեր մասին էլ հոգ չէր տանում: Ես զարմացած էի, թե ինչու պետք է մնայի այդ հերթում և ինչու չպետք է տանը սովորելիս լինեի, և թե ինչու մեր դպրոցը չէր հետևում մեզ այնպես, ինչպես առաջներում:

Ե՞ րբ գիտակցեցիր, որ Ադրբեջանը պատերազմում էր, և դա ինչպե՞ս անդրադարձավ քո կյանքի վրա:

Քանզի մենք հյուսիսում էինք ապրում, դա այնպիսի մեծ ազդեցություն չունեցավ իմ կյանքի վրա, ինչպիսին այն ունեցավ իմ տարեկից երեխաների մեծամասնության կյանքերի վրա, հատկապես Ադրբեջանի արևմտյան մասում բնակվող: Շատ փախստականներ չեկան բնակվելու հյուսիսում: Նրանք հիմնականում ժամանեցին այն մասերը, որ ավելի մոտ էին կոնֆլիկտային շրջանին: Բայց հիշում եմ, որ մարդիկ լացում էին կոնֆիլտի առաջին տարիներին: Հիշում եմ` մայրս ու բարեկամներս լացում էին Սև Հունվարի իրադարձությունները հեռուստացույցով դիտելիս:  Հիշում եմ, որ սարսափած էի:

Ինչպե՞ ս կլուծվի Ղարաբաղյան կոնֆլիկտը: Ո՞ րն է առաջ տանող ճանապարհը:

Ես հակակրում էի հայերին մի որոշ ժամանակ, բայց կարծում եմ, որ դա փոխվել է այն ժամանակից ի վեր: Հիմա ինձ համար մեկ է. ես հայ ընկերներ ունեի Վրաստանում և Միացյալ Նահանգներում: Ես նրանց ամենևին չեմ ատում և չեմ տեսնում որևէ տարբերություն ու չեմ կարծում, թե նրանք մեղավոր են: Դա քաղաքական կոնֆլիկտ է:

Ես ավելի հասունացա և կարողացա մտածել Ադրբեջանի խնդիրներից դուրս: Գուցե այն պատճառով, որ ես նույնպես էթնիկ փոքրամասնության անդամ եմ: Իմ շրջանում որոշ մարդիկ երբեմն ասում են. «Մենք պետք է անկախ լինենք, մենք չպետք է Ադրբեջանի մասը կազմենք:» Ես դա կարող եմ հասկանալ, բայց չեմ կարծում, թե այդպես մտածելը կամ այդ ցանկությունն ունենալը խելացի է: Եթե մենք էթնիկ փոքրամասնություններ ենք, դա չի նշանակում, որ մենք պետք է առանձնանանք: Մենք այնուամենայնիվ կարող ենք Ադրբեջանի մասը կազմել, և ես կարծում եմ, որ Ադրբեջանը շատ, շատ հանդուրժող է էթնիկ փոքրամասնությունների հանդեպ: Ես հրապարակավ կարող եմ ասել, որ ավարացի եմ: Վրաստանում դա տարբերվում է, այնտեղ դժվար է ասել` ես չեչեն եմ կամ սվան: Ես տեսել եմ համակուրսեցիներիս հակազդեցությունը, նրանց մեջ էթնիկ փոքրամասնությունների ներկայացուցիչներ կային, և մարդիկ չէին խոսում այդ մասին: Իրականում ինձ հարգում էին:

Բարդ է հայ-ադրբեջանական հարաբերությունների և Ղարաբաղի մասին խոսելը: Կարծում եմ, որ այս կոնֆլիկտը չի լուծվի մինչև մեդիաները չդադարեն հարձակումները մեկ մյուսի վրա, մինչև ադրբեջանական ANS հեռուստաալիքը չդադարի անել այնպիսի բաներ, ինչպիսին նորությունների հեռարձակումը կոնֆլիկտի շարունակման մասին հայտարարությունից սկսելը:

Մարդիկ պետք է կրթվեն: Որքան կրթված ես, այնքան ավելի քիչ ես ազգայնական, այնքան ավելի քիչ ներգրավված կլինես կոնֆլիկտի մեջ: Եթե մարդիկ լավ կրթության հնարավորություն չունեն, անշուշտ ողջ այդ ազգայնականությունը տեղ կունենա: Որքան ավելի ազգայնական մնան, այնքան կոնֆլիկտը սառած կմնա և չի լուծվի:

Նրանք պետք է հասկանան, որ հայերը վատ են վարվել Ադրբեջանի հանդեպ, բայց ադրբեջանցիները նույնպես որոշ վատ բաներ են արել հայերի հանդեպ: Նրանք չպետք է ատեն մարդկանց նրանց էթնիկ պատկանելության պատճառով, նրանք չպետք է ընդհանրացնեն: Պատմության մեջ շատ դեպքեր կան կոնֆլիկտների. ֆրանսիացիներն ու անգլիացիները կոնֆլիկտներ ունեին հարյուրավոր տարիների ընթացքում, բայց այժմ նրանք խաղաղության մեջ են ապրում: Մարդիկ պետք է իմանան այդ մասին: Կոնֆլիկտի լուծումը ոչ միայն քաղաքական գործիչների միջև, այլև մարդկանց միջև պիտի լինի: Եթե նույնիսկ ասվի, որ սահմանները բաց են հիմա, եթե մարդիկ չընդունեն դա, դա կլինի նոր կոնֆլիկտի տանող նոր քայլ: Ես չեմ կարծում, թե մարդկանց կրթում են այլ կոնֆլիկտների մասին:

4 Responses to “If women are doing a “man’s job,” it’s ok, but if a man is doing some kind of a “woman’s job,” it’s a shame”

  1. Nice and interesting İntervievv. but it is looong :(

  2. what ethnic group was she from?

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

