I used to have Armenian friends but not anymore

The interviewer (Nikki Kazimova) met Narguiz A for an interview on March 20, 2011. Narguiz is a successful pianist, who gives frequent concerts and travels extensively around the world with her family.

My name is Narguiz, I am 43. I have three children – two girls, 14 and 10, and a boy who is 18 months old. I’ve been married for 15 years.

I live with my husband and children, and there is always some help around the house – a housekeeper and a nanny. I wouldn’t want to live with in-laws or parents, I find this situation unnatural. I would not have married if our family could not live separately. Even with the best mother-in-law, it is hard. My sister went through that for 13 years and we ended up solving this problem for her and buying an apartment  to separate them from her in-laws.

I was born and have always lived in Baku. My mom is from Iravan (Yerevan). They moved to Baku in the 1950s. My dad is a native Bakuvian, all of his predecessors, as far as we know, were from Baku.

For some time, I thought that perhaps, it would be good to move somewhere but now, may be with age or because I have achieved a certain social status, I would not want to move. It would be hard for me to accept marginalization just because I am Azeri. I think, I will stay here for the rest of my life, unless my husband moves me together with my daughters when they go overseas to study.

This is a big dilemma for me. On the one hand, I want them to study abroad, on the other – how will they adapt back in Azerbaijan when they finish their schooling? I am already upset that they don’t appreciate our national music, mugham, and that my younger daughter’s primary language is Russian. They study in an atypical school, Baku Oxford School, where English is the language of instruction, so they don’t really feel very Azerbaijani. I am very Azeri deep inside and it hurts my feelings. I understand that another 5-7 years overseas will push them even further from their roots and most likely they will not want to live here anymore. It’s a dilemma. I keep pushing these thoughts to the back of my mind – can they be good citizens of their country if they move abroad to study? It’s hard to find an answer, or may be I am just afraid of the answer.

I am a piano player. I have completed [the country’s main] music school named after Bul-Bul with a golden medal and entered the Azerbaijan State Conservatory, as it was called back then. I had to take six exams (in other schools, if you completed school with a golden medal, you had to take only one exam). You had to get six “A”s. If you got even one “B,” you’d have to take two more exams, just like everybody else, eight in total. I got six “A”s. I was a straight “A” student at the Conservatory. The Lenin Stipend was given to only one student in their third year of studies at the Conservatory, after you’d proven yourself for the first two years, and I got that stipend for the whole remaining time, for three years. Then I became a PhD student and was invited to stay at the Conservatory as a teaching assistant. I have a PhD (“kandidatskaya”) degree.

When my professor Vladimir Anshelevich was moving to Israel, he approached the Rector of the Conservatory and said that I was the only person to whom he could hand over his class. This is how I ended up having a class to teach a year after I completed my studies. Some of my students were older than me. With time, I received a Docent title and then became a full-time Professor. Now I am applying to get the official title of a professor, not as a teaching credential but as a research degree. I am very active and give many concerts. In 2008, I was awarded the “Honored Artist of Azerbaijan” title and during that same year I took the second place at the International Music Competition “Pietro Argento” in Italy.

There is an important detail about taking part in competitions – during the Soviet times, the powers to be in Moscow were selecting participants for those contests, usually only in a handful of the most prestigious ones around the world. It was very hard to get in for both objective and subjective reasons – the Moscow and Leningrad schools were very strong and it was hard to compete with their students, and also it was not easy for an Azerbaijani to be promoted. Those who made it through all the hoops and were allowed to take part in the contests were practically guaranteed to win prizes because they were excellent musicians. To get in for someone from Azerbaijan was practically impossible.

Later, times changed but I was already married with a kid by then. I thought I had lost my chance because most contests accepted only participants under 30 years of age. But I really wanted to do this because I wanted to test myself on an international stage, to see what I was worth outside of Azerbaijan. I learned that there were contests without age limit and I started practicing very hard, for long hours. I was so obsessed that when I came back from a hospital after an emergency surgery in the abdominal area, I went right back to the piano, despite warnings from the nurse that I had to remain in bed for a couple of days.

So, I am so happy I did it – otherwise I would have been regretting for the rest of my life not fulfilling one of my main dreams. I may go for another contest sometime.

It was easy for me to fully dedicate myself to music when I was living with my parents. They made it a priority and, as my mom says, were tiptoeing around the apartment, because I was practicing for an upcoming concert.

My husband is quite conservative, on the other hand, he feels awkward to see me on stage, with everyone looking at me and applauding.

When I was preparing to release my first CD, he insisted that it should not have any photos of me. The designer then suggested some very blurred photo on the background. My second CD was full of my photos and he did was ok with that. I think, much of the time it’s not even what he truly thinks but rather his worries about society’s reaction to things.

He believed that I should have just enjoyed myself, sought an easy life – shopping for clothes, visiting hairdressers, chatting with friends. That – he would have been ok with. He always says that he wants me to just enjoy life. But for my husband, enjoying life means relaxing. And I am strange because I don’t know how to relax. Relaxing to me is stress, it’s being unhappy about myself, it’s a duty that makes me exhausted.

Finally, he realized that the only way to make me stop working hard was to kill me. Otherwise, there was no way to stop that gushing fountain of my desire to invest myself in my work. But before he realized that, I spent some years doing practically nothing – just slow-pace teaching at the Conservatory, being promoted in due time, but no concerts. He was happy about his wife going to work only twice a week, to avoid boredom. I‘ve never had to contribute to the family finances, it was entirely his responsibility and he thought I’d just keep this kind of work for my own pleasure and peace of mind. But then, when he realized that I’d wanted to invest significant time, energy, and money into practicing and traveling with concerts, it took some convincing.

You know, I have a very strong will to live. My eyes were always shining. But my mother keeps saying that I have lost the sparkle in my eyes after I got married.

You know how he proposed to me? He said, “I love you and want to marry you, even if you don’t love me. My love will be sufficient for both of us.”

At the time I was attracted to that. He was different from all my other admirers because I could sense that he was stronger than me. My father is a very soft-spoken, kind person who is not very practical and does not really make any decisions around the house. In my parents’ home, a leaking tap would be leaking forever. So, I wanted someone different from my Dad – someone resolute and strong.

But now we fight a lot. We have five strong-willed people in the house, and it’s not easy. In 15 years that we’ve been married, he has not said “I am sorry” once.

I have to say though that I am not strong, I am just a survivor because I am very adaptable. If I was stronger, I’d put up a fight or leave.

I am not complaining – I think that every person deserves what s/he has. Not necessarily because that person is bad, sometimes because s/he is too good.

And I still admire the qualities that attracted me to him – his intellect, his strong personality, his honesty and integrity. He does not help around the house but he provides me with plenty of assistants. He has hired two nannies for our young son, a housekeeper, and a driver.

What if he comes home in the evening and you have to practice for a concert? Can you go on practicing while he serves his own dinner?

Oh, no, he can never do that. No, I have to serve him dinner and sit with him through it. But he comes home quite late and I am usually done with my work by 10 p.m. If he comes an hour earlier, I’ll drop what I am doing and serve him dinner.

What do you think about relations with Armenia, especially given your family background?

My mom and my grandma shared their memories about life in Iravan at the beginning of the last century. You know, the name Iravan comes from the name of Ravan Khan who ruled the Iravan Khanate. Armenians add an “i” in front of names that start with “r” – for example, they’d call a “Rza” an “Irza.” My grandma always used to say that Ravan Khan sold Iravan for a chest of gold. All of her family lived there – grandma, great grandma – right in the center of Iravan. Grandma used to say that there were Armenian quarters in Iravan, just like in Baku, but that it was an Azerbaijani town.

Iravan was a lot more Azeri than Baku. Baku was an international city – Jewish, Armenian, Russian, what not – but Iravan was a typical Azerbaijani town. Grandma was upset about this when they moved to Baku. In Iravan of her times, everyone including Armenians knew the Azeri language and it was the language of communication there.

Then the politics started, and the Azeri families started being moved from there. I know that at some point, Armenians from different parts of the world started arriving and settling there. The Azeris were moved away under the pretext that the newcomers needed places to live. They moved Armenians from abroad even during Soviet years! My grandfather had a good job, and their family was not forcibly moved but their children came to Baku to study and they followed.

I am surprised by what you are saying about the high level of concern in the Azerbaijani society about the Garabagh problem. They may be thinking about it but passively, not actively. It’s like a hardship that you keep living with.

I think, Azeris got what they deserved. Just like people, nations deserve what happens to them, often not because they are bad but because they are too good. Azeris don’t have the hatred in them. Hatred is a very strong developing force for a nation that strengthens its feelings. Coping, putting up with something is a bad quality for a person and for a nation. If you don’t put up with someone’s bad attitude toward you, with injustice, you will stand up against it. Everybody here says, “We are so kind, that is why we put up with it.” We are not kind, we are just cowards.

It is widely believed that hatred destroys one’s soul but I think that only a strong person can hate. A weak one can get angry, be upset. We can get angry but we don’t keep that hatred inside for a long time, the hatred that would unite us as a nation, compel us to act.

I disagree with you that the level of hatred to Armenians is high. There are 30,000 Armenians living in Baku today. Do they feel any kind of discomfort? None. Of course, nowadays they may not be able to move upward socially or something but they don’t feel any moral pressure. No one tells them openly – I don’t like you because you are Armenian. Now imagine an Azeri who’d still be in Armenia, say, married to an Armenian, they’d be killed!

So, what kind of hatred are you talking about? Unfortunately, I see just the opposite – people live their lives, get married, and get brainwashed by TV that keeps feeding them gossip about pop-stars instead of talking about recapturing Agdam. That’s why I never watch TV – but again this is not an active protest on my part but cowardice.

The most important quality of any Armenian is hatred to the Turks and Azeris. Everything else comes second. This feeling moves them, unites them, allows them to develop. There are some rare cases of benevolent Armenians but as a rule their first quality is hatred. Even if they hide it and pretend that they are friendly, it is not true. I know this for sure, this is in my genes. My family is from Iravan. They felt that hatred.

My mom told me that back in the 1950s, when they were children, they would play together and if an Azeri kid would get upset, they’d call the offender “donkey” or something like that but an Armenian child would always use “Turk” as a swearing word. Their hatred was expressed in this word “Turk”. No matter how young a child, they never forget this. Even if they make friends, they still remember that Turks are bad. Armenians are raised with that idea.

It is impossible to try to reconcile them with us. The only way is for us to be strong and to make them understand that we matter. They have to be afraid of our economic might – that’s the only thing that will keep our relations in balance.

To return our lands, we have to be strong and, perhaps, we need to buy them back. If there was no pressure from Russia and the international community, I’d say we need to go to war. But perhaps we can bargain with them politically.

I used to have Armenian friends but not anymore. I would never marry an Armenian. If one of my children will want to marry an Armenian, I will fight to death not to let that happen. And not because I don’t like them but because they will not like me. Not because they are my enemies but because they are raised on hatred to Turks and they will always express or at least feel that hatred. Our memories are short, we can forget, say in 20 years, if we get our lands back. But they never forget.

We just need to know this. I am not advocating war. I am just saying that people here need to know who they are dealing with. Only if we are strong, can we have some relations with them.

Azeri translation:

“Daha güclü olsaydım, ya qarşı çıxardım, ya da çıxıb gedərdim”

Nikki Kazımova Nərgizdən müsahibə almaq üçün onunla 2011-ci il martın 20-də görüşüb. Nərgiz bacarıqlı pianoçudur, tez-tez konsertlər verir. Və ailəsi ilə birlikdə sıx-sıx  dünya səyahətinə çıxır.

Adım Nərgizdir. 43 yaşım var. Üç uşaq anasıyam – 14 və 10 yaşlarında iki qızım və 18 aylıq oğlum var. 15 ildir ki, ailə qurmuşam.

Həyat yoldaşım və uşaqlarımla birlikdə yaşayıram. Ev işlərinində köməkdən və dayə yardımından da yararlanıram. Qayınana və qayınatamla və yaxud öz valideynlərimlə birlikdə yaşamaq istəməzdim. Məncə, bu, normal deyil. Ayrı yaşamaq imkanımız olmasa idi, heç ailə qurmazdm. Hətta ən yaxşı qayınana ilə birlikdə yaşamaq belə, çətindir. Mənim bacım 13 il bu çətinliyi çəkib və nəhayət biz bu problemi həll etmək üçün ona  qayınana-qayınatadan ayrı yaşayacağı mənzil almışıq.

Mən Bakıda doğulmuşam və həmişə burada yaşamışam. Anam əslən İrəvandandır (Yerevan). Onun ailəsi 1950-ci illərdə Bakıya köçüb. Atam isə, köklü bakılıdır. Onun bütün əsli-nəcabəti Bakıdandır.

Əvvəllər düşünürdüm ki, bəlkə də harasa köçüb getmək yaxşı olar. Amma indi bilmirəm yaşla əlaqədardır, yoxsa artıq müəyyən social status əldə etmişəm, ona görədir, getmək istəmirəm. Düşünürəm ki, marqinalizasiyanı qəbul etmək mənim üçün çətin olar, sadəcə ona görə ki, mən azərbaycanlıyam.

Mən pianoçuyam. Bülbül adına orta ixtisas musiqi məktəbini qızıl medalla bitirmişəm və Azərbaycan Dövlət Konservatoriyasına (əvvəllər belə adlanırdı) daxil olmuşam. Sonra elmi dərəcə aldım və Konservatoriyada dərs deməyə dəvət olundum.

2008-ci ildə Azərbaycanın əməkdar artisti fəxri adına layiq görüldüm və elə həmin ildə də İtaliyada keçirilən “Pietro Argento” Beynəlxalq Musiqi Müsabiqəsində ikinci yerə çıxdım. Buna nail olduğuma görə çox sevinirəm, yoxsa ən böyük arzularımdan birini həyata keçirə bilmədiyimə görə bütün ömrüm boyu təəsssüf edərdim.

Valideynlərimin yanında yaşayanda özümü tamamilə musiqiyə həsr edə bilirdim. Onlar buna çox önəm verirdilər və anamın dediyi kimi mən növbəti konsertə hazırlaşanda mənə mane olmamaq üçün evdə barmaqlarının ucunda gəzirdilər.

Həyat yoldaşım kifayət qədər mühafizəkar adamdır, eyni zamanda mən səhnədə olanda, başqalarının mənə baxıb alqışlamasını görəndə özünü narahat hiss edir.

Birinci CD-mi çıxarmağa hazırlayanda, o təkid etdi ki, diskin üzərində mənim fotoşəklim olmasın. Sonra dizayner fonda tamamilə qeyri-müəyyən bir şəklin verilməsini təklif etdi. İkinci CD-im mənim fotoşəkillərimlə dolu idi və o, bununla razılaşdı. Məncə, çox zaman o özü belə düşündüyündən deyil, sadəcə ətrafdakıların necə reaksiya verəcəyindən narahat olur.

O düşünür ki, mən sadəcə özüm üçün yaşamalıyam, rahat həyat axtarmalıyam, pal-paltar almaqla, qadın salonlarına getməklə, dostlarımla söhbət etməklə məşğul olmalıyam. Onun üçün belə yaxşı olar. Həmişə deyir ki, mənim sadəcə həyatdan həzz almağımı istəyir. Amma mənim həyat yoldaşım üçün həyatdan həzz almaq yalnız əylənmək deməkdir. Və mənim necə əylənməyi bilmədiyim üçün təəccüblənir. Mənim üçün isə, bunlar stressdir, xoş deyil, özümü tükənmiş hiss etməkdir.

Bununla belə, mən güclü deyiləm, sadəcə uyğunlaşmağı bacardığım üçün belə yaşaya bilirəm. Daha güclü olsaydım, ya qarşı çıxardım, ya da çıxıb gedərdim.

Şikayət etmirəm, məncə, hər kəs nəyə malikdirsə, ona da layiqdir. Bu həmin adamın mütləq pis adam olmasına görə deyil, bəzən əksinə, həddən artıq yaxşı adam olmasına görədir.

Ermənistanla münasibətlərlə bağlı nə düşünürsünüz, xüsusilə ailənizin kökünü nəzərə alsaq?

Anamla nənəm keçən əsrin əvvəllərində İrəvandakı həyat haqqında xatirələrini danışırdılar. Onun bütün ailəsi orada yaşayıb, nənəm, ulu nənəm, İrəvanın düz mərkəzində. Nənəm deyərdi ki, Bakıda olduğu kimi İrəvanda da ermənilərin evləri vardı, amma şəhər Azərbaycan şəhəri idi.

İrəvanda Bakıdan daha çox azərbaycanlı vardı. Bakı beynəlmiləl şəhər idi – yəhudilər, ermənilər, ruslar və başqaları yaşayırdı. Amma İrəvan tipik Azərbaycan şəhəri idi.

Nənəm Bakıya köçəndə kədərlənibmiş. Onun zamanında İrəvanda ermənilər də daxil olmaqla hamı Azərbaycan dilini bilirmiş, bu orada ümumi ünsiyyət dili imiş. Sonra siyasi məsələlər baş qaldırıb və Azərbaycan ailələri oradan köçməyə başlayıblar.

Məncə, azərbaycanlılar layiq olduqlarına çatıblar. Ayrı-ayrı insanlar kimi, millətlərin də başına gələnlər adətən pis olduqlarına görə yox, əksinə çox yaxşı olduqlarına görə baş verir. Azərbaycanlıların ürəyində nifrət yoxdur. Nifrət millətin inkişafı üçün çox güclü qüvvədir. Dözmək, tab gətirmək insan  üçün də, millət üçün də yaxşı keyfiyyət deyil. Əgər kiminsə sənə qarşı pis münasibətinə, ədalətsizliyə tab gətirmirsənsə, buna qarşı çıxmalısan. Burada hər kəs deyir ki, biz çox xeyirxah adamlarıq, ona görə dözürük. Amma biz xeyirxah deyilik, biz sadəcə qorxağıq.

Mən o fikirlə razı deyiləm ki, bizdə ermənilərə qarşı güclü nifrət var. Hazırda Bakıda 30 000 erməni yaşayır. Onları narahat edən varmı? Yox. Əlbəttə, indi onlar hansısa social inkişafa və s. nail ola bilmirlər, amma hər hansı mənəvi təzyiqlə də üzləşmirlər. Onlara heç kim açıq-açıq “səndən xoşum gəlmir, çünki ermənisən” demir. Təsəvvür edin ki, bir azərbaycanlı, məsələn, erməni ilə evil olsaydı, indiyə kimi Ermənistanda qala bilərdimi? Onu öldürərdilər.

İstənilən erməni isə, türklərə və azərbaycanlılara qarşı nifrət ruhunda tərbiyə olunur. Qalan hər şey bundan sonra gəlir. Bu nifrət hissi onları hərəkətə gətirir, onları birləşdirir, onları inkişaf etdirir. Bəzən istisna hallarda alicənab erməniyə rast gəlmək olur, amma adətən onların əsas keyfiyyəti nifrətdir. Hətta onlar bunu gizlədib, özlərini dost kimi göstərirlərsə də, bu həqiqət deyil. Mən buna əminəm, bu mənim genlərimdə var. Ailəm əslən İrəvandandır. Onlar bu nifrəti yaşayıblar.

Torpaqlarımıza gəlincə, məncə, biz güclü olmalı və onları geri almalıyıq. Əgər Rusiya və beynəlxalq ictimaiyyətin təzyiqi olmasaydı, deyərdim ki, biz müharibəyə getməliyik. Amma biz onlarla siyasi yolla da razılığa gələ bilərik.

Əvvəllər məni erməni dostlarım vardı. Amma indi yoxdur. Heç vaxt erməni ilə ailə qurmazdım. Əgər uşaqlarımdan da biri erməni ilə ailə qurmaq istəsə, sona qədər mübarizə apararam, amma bunun baş verməsinə razı olmaram. Və ona görə yox ki, mənim onlardan xoşum gəlmir, ona görə ki, onların məndən xoşu gəlməyəcək. Ona görə yox ki, onlar mənim düşmənlərimdir, ona görə ki, onlar türklərə nifrət bəsləyirlər və həmişə də nifrət bəsləyəcəklər. Bizim yaddaşımız qısadır, torpaqlarımızı geri alsaq, deyək ki, 20 ilə hər şeyi unuda bilərik. Amma onlar heç vaxt unutmurlar.

Biz sadəcə bunu bilməliyik. Mən müharibə tərəfdarı deyiləm. Sadəcə onu deyirəm ki, insanlar qarşılarında kimin olduğunu bilməlidirlər. Biz yalnız güclü olduğumuz təqdirdə, onlarla münasibət qura bilərik.

Armenian translation:

Հարցազրույցը վարողը` Նիկկի Կազիմովան, հանդիպել է Նարգիզ Ա-ին հարցազրույց վերցնելու համար 2011թ.մարտի 20-ին: Նարգիզը հաջողակ դաշնակահարուհի է, ով հաճախ է ունենում համերգներ և էքստենսիվորեն շրջում է ողջ աշխարհով իր ընտանիքի հետ:

Իմ անունը Նարգիզ է, 43 տարեկան եմ: Ես ունեմ երեք երեխա` երկու դուստրեր` 14 և 10 տարեկան, և որդի, որ 18 ամսեկան է: Ամուսնացած եմ 15 տարի:

Ես ապրում եմ ամուսնուս և երեխաներիս հետ, և տանը միշտ օգնական կա` տնտեսուհի և դայակ: Ես չէի ցանկանա ապրել ամուսնուս կամ իմ ծնողների հետ, այդպիսի իրավիճակն ինձ անբնական է թվում: Ես չէի ամուսնանա, եթե մեր ընտանիքը չկարողանար առանձին ապրել: Նույնիսկ լավագույն սկեսրոջ հետ բարդ է: Քույրս 13 տարի ստիպված էր անցնել դրա միջով, և մենք վերջիվերջո լուծեցինք այդ խնդիրը գնելով տուն նրանց` քրոջս ամուսնու ծնողներից առանձնացնելու համար:

Ես ծնվել ու միշտ ապրել եմ Բաքու քաղաքում: Մայրս Իրավանից` Երևանից է: Նրանք տեղափոխվել են Բաքու 1950-ական թթ.: Հայրս բնիկ բաքվեցի է, նրա բոլոր նախնիները, որքանով ինձ հայտնի է, Բաքվից են եղել:

Որոշ ժամանակ ես կարծում էի, որ թերևս լավ կլիներ տեղափոխվել մի այլ տեղ, բայց հիմա, գուցե տարիք առնելով կամ որոշակի սոցիալական կարգավիճակի հասնելով, չեմ ուզում տեղափոխվել այտեղից: Ինձ համար բարդ կլիներ ենթարկվել մարգինալացման միայն այն պատճառով, որ ես ադրբեջանցի եմ:

Ես դաշնակահարուհի եմ: Ավարտել եմ Բուլ-Բուլի անվան (երկրի գլխավոր) երաժշտական դպրոցը ոսկե մեդալով և ընդունվել Ադրբեջանի պետական կոնսերվատորիա, ինչպես այն կոչվում էր այդ ժամանակ: Հետո ես դարձա դոկտորական աստիճան հետապնդող ուսանող և ինձ հրավիրեցին մնալ Կոնսերվատորիայում` որպես դասախոսի ընթերակա: Ես ունեմ դոկտորական աստիճան:

2008-ին պարգևատրվել եմ «Ադրբեջանի վաստակավոր արտիստ» տիտղոսով և հենց նույն թվականին ես զբաղեցրեցի երկրորդ տեղն Իտալիայում կայացած Պիետրո Արջենտոյի անվան միջազգային երաժշտական մրցույթում: Ես այնքան երջանիկ եմ, որ նվաճեցի դա, հակառակ դեպքում կյանքիս մնացած մասն անցկացնելու էի զղջալով կարևորագույն երազանքներիցս մեկը չիրագործելու համար: Գուցե երբևէ մեկ այլ մրցույթի էլ մասնակցեմ:

Ինձ համար դյուրին էր ինքս ինձ ամբողջությամբ երաժշտությանը նվիրել, երբ ապրում էի ծնողներիս հետ: Նրանք դա դարձրել էին առաջնություն, և ինչպես մայրս է ասում, իրենք ոտքի մատների ծայրերի վրա էին քայլում բնակարանում, քանի որ ես նախապատրաստվում էի գալիք համերգին:

Ամուսինս բավականին պահպանողական է, մյուս կողմից էլ նա անհարմար է զգում տեսնել ինձ բեմի վրա, երբ բոլորն ինձ են նայում ու ծափահարում:

Երբ ես պատրաստվում էի թողարկել իմ առաջին ձայնասկավառակը, նա պնդում էր, որ դրա վրա չպետք է լինեին իմ լուսանկարները: Դիզայները այդ ժամանակ առաջարկեց մի շատ մշուշոտ լուսանկար տեղադրել ետին պլանում: Իմ երկրորդ ձայնասկավառակը լի էր իմ լուսանկարներով, և նա ամենևին խնդիր չէր տեսնում դրանում:  Կարծում եմ շատ ժամանակ դա նույնիսկ այն չէ, ինչ ինքն իրոք մտածում է, այլ ավելի շատ անհանգստանում է հասարակության արձագանքի վերաբերյալ:

Նա ենթադրում էր, որ ես միայն պետք է վայելեի կյանքս, ձգտեի հեշտ կյանքի` հագուստի գնումներ կատարելու, վարսավիրանոցներ այցելելու, ընկերների հետ զվարճանալու: Ինքը դրա հետ խնդիր չէր ունենա: Նա միշտ ասում է, որ ինքն ուզում է, որ ես պարզապես վայելեմ կյանքս: Բայց ամուսնուս համար կյանքը վայելել նշանակում է լիցքաթափվել: Իսկ ես տարօրինակ եմ նրանով, որ չգիտեմ ինչպես լիցքաթափվել: Լիցքաթափվելն ինձ համար սթրես է, դա համարժեք է ինքս ինձ դժբախտ զգալուն, պարտականություն, որ ինձ ուժասպառ է անում:

Պետք է ասեմ թեև, որ ես ուժեղ չեմ, ես ընդամենը գոյատևող եմ, որովհետև շատ հեշտ եմ ընտելանում: Եթե ես ավելի ուժեղ լինեի, կսկսեի պայքարել կամ կհեռանայի (ամուսնուցս):

Ես չեմ գանգատվում. կարծում եմ` ամեն ոք արժանի է նրան, ինչ ունի: Ոչ անհրաժեշտաբար վատ անձ լինելու պատճառով, երբեմն ընդհակառակը չափազանց լավը լինելու պատճառով:

Ի ՞նչ կարծիքի ես Հայաստանի հետ հարաբերությունների վերաբերյալ` հատկապես հաշվի առնելով քո ընտանիքի նախադրյալները: 

Մայրս և տատիկս կիսվել են անցած դարասկզբի Երևանի մասին իրենց ունեցած հիշողություններով: Իրենց ողջ ընտանիքը այնտեղ է ապրելիս եղել` Երևանի հենց կենտրոնում, տատիկս, մեծ տատիկը:  Տատիկն ասում էր, որ Երևանում կային հայկական թաղամասեր, ինպես Բաքվում, բայց այն ադրբեջանական քաղաք էր:

Երևանը շատ ավելի ադրբեջանական քաղաք էր, քան Բաքուն: Բաքուն միջազգային քաղաք էր` հրեական, հայկական, ռուսական, և այլն, բայց Երևանը տիպիկ ադրբեջանական քաղաք էր: Տատիկս շատ վշտացած էր, երբ նրանք տեղափոխվեցին Բաքու: Իր ժամանակների Երևանում բոլորը` ներառյալ հայերը, գիտեին ադրբեջաներեն, և ադրբեջաներենն էր հաղորդակցման լեզուն: Հետո սկսվեցին քաղաքական իրադարձությունները, և ադրբեջանական ընտանիքները սկսեցին տարհանվել այնտեղից:

Ես կարծում եմ, որ ադրբեջանցիները ստացան այն, ինչին արժանի էին: Այնպես, ինչպես ցանկացած ազգ արժանի է նրան, ինչ պատահում է իրեն, հաճախ ոչ այն պատճառով, որ նրանք վատն են, այլ որովհետև չափազանց լավն են: Ադրբեջանցիները չունեն ատելություն իրենց մեջ: Ատելությունը շատ ուժեղ զարգացման խթան է ազգի համար, այն ուժեղացնում է զգացումները:

Ինչ-որ բանի հաղթահարումը, համակերպումը ինչ-որ բանի հետ վատ որակ է թե ՛ անձի, թե ՛ ազգի համար: Եթե չհամակերպվես ինչ-որ մեկի վատ վերաբերմունքի հետ քո հանդեպ, անարդարության հետ, կդիմադրես: Այստեղ բոլորն ասում են. «Մենք բարի ենք, ահա թե ինչու ենք համակերպվում դրա հետ:» Մենք բարի չենք, պարզապես մենք վախկոտներ ենք:

Ես չեմ համաձայնվում քեզ հետ, որ ատելության մակարդակը հայերի հանդեպ բարձր է: Այսօր Բաքվում 30 000 հայեր են ապրում: Նրանք որևէ անհարմարության հանդիպու՞մ են: Ոչ մի: Անշուշտ այժմ նրանք գուցե չկարողանան սոցիալապես առաջ գնալ կամ մի այլ բան, բայց նրանք չեն ենթարկվում բարոյական ճնշման: Ոչ ոք բացեիբաց չի ասում նրանց. «Ես չեմ սիրում քեզ, քանզի դու հայ ես: » Հիմա պատկերացրու մի ադրբեջանցու, ով դեռ Հայաստանում լիներ, ասենք` ամուսնացած լիներ մի հայի հետ, նրան կսպանեին:

Ցանկացած հայի ամենակարևոր որակը թուրքերի ու ադրբեջանցիների հանդեպ ատելությունն է: Մնացած ամեն ինչ երկրորդական է: Այս զգացումը խթանում է նրանց, միավորում, թույլ է տալիս զարգանալ: Հազվադեպ պատահում են բարյացակամ հայեր, բայց, որպես կանոն, նրանց առաջին հատկանիշը ատելությունն է: Եթե նույնիսկ նրանք թաքցնում են դա և ձևացնում, որ իրենք բարեկամաբար են տրամադրված, դա ճիշտ չէ: Ես վստահ եմ դրանում, դա իմ գեների մեջ է: Իմ ընտանիքը Երևանից է: Նրանք զգացել են այդ ատելությունը:

Մեր հողերը վերադարձնելու համար պիտի ուժեղ լինենք ու թերևս պետք է հետ գնենք դրանք: Եթե Ռուսաստանի և միջազգային համայնքի կողմից ճնշում չլիներ, ես կասեի, որ պետք է պատերազմել: Բայց գուցե մենք կարող ենք սակարկել նրանց հետ քաղաքականապես:

Առաջ ես հայ ընկերներ ունեի, բայց ոչ հիմա: Ես երբեք չէի ամուսնանա հայի հետ: Եթե երեխաներիցս մեկն ուզենա ամուսնանալ հայի հետ, ես մահացու կպայքարեմ դրա իրագործումը խափանելու համար: Եվ դա ոչ այն պատճառով, որ ես չեմ սիրում նրանց, այլ քանզի նրանք չեն սիրի ինձ: Ոչ այն պատճառով, որ նրանք իմ թշնամիներն են, այլ այն պատճառով, որ նրանք դաստիարակված են թուրքերի հանդեպ ատելություն տածելու և միշտ կարտահայտեն կամ առնվազն կզգան այդ ատելությունը: Մեր հիշողությունը կարճ է, մենք կարող ենք մոռանալ, ասենք 20 տարուց, եթե հետ ստանանք մեր հողերը: Բայց նրանք երբեք չեն մոռանում:

Մենք պարզապես պետք է իմանանք այս մասին: Ես չեմ պրոպագանդում պատերազմ: Ես ընդամենն ասում եմ, որ մարդիկ այստեղ պետք է իմանան, թե ինչի հետ գործ ունեն: Միայն ուժեղ լինելու դեպքում կարող ենք ունենալ հարաբերություններ նրանց հետ:

Leave a Reply

